Dairy Bar History

The Dairy Bar Back In The DayThe Altamont Dairy Bar was built in 1957 by Harry Beccue.  Constructed on the south side of Altamont and nestled in between Schmidt Park and Illinois Route 128 the Dairy Bar was perfectly located.  The design of the original building was typical of most custard stands of the 1950's complete with the serving window on the front, large glass windows so patrons could see the multitudes of candy and ice cream for sale and the screen door entrance in the rear.  The Dairy Bar passed from owner to owner through the years including Warner Goers, Tom Osseck, Bob & Judy Mayhaus, Wendel Chamblis, Brian and Shelly Gilbert and finally Debbie and Alvin Schultz.  The Schultz family have been the owners since February 5th, 1988 and have made numerous changes in The Dairy Bar.  They have expanded the dining area, expanded the menu, expanded the kitchen and expanded the service area of The Dairy Bar with the foundation of Deb's Catering. Now the great food of the Dairy Bar is catered to patrons from St. Louis to Terra Haute and from Bloomington to Carbondale.  The Schultz family would like to thank the generations of Altamont teens and adults that have helped them make The Dairy Bar a great success over the years.

What is next?  Deb's may be going into the vending business soon!  The great Deb's food may be available to patrons all over the United States. And it all started with a little old custard stand right here in Altamont Illinois.

You are here: Home History